Home -> View Lot

Harding, Coolidge and Hoover 1921-1933 Presidents, Vice Presidents and Cabinet Members Signed Items (14)

Lot Number 1281

Quantity: Bid Starts: 03/24/2023 12:00:00 
Bid Open: 400.00  Bid Ends: 04/06/2023 23:30:00 
Bid Count: Overtime: 30 Minutes
Currently: 0.00  Time Left: 6d 17h 6m 39s
View Count: 744   
  Time Left to Place Your Initial Bid
6d 15h 36m 39s
    Previous Lot <--> Next Lot

Morgan Bulkeley's Personal 1790s-1920s "Presidential Cabinet" Autograph Collection


As the first National League president in baseball history (1876), Morgan Bulkeley is a much sought-after signature in his own right, and we've been fortunate to showcase the early Hall of Famer's signed personal effects in our recent auctions. Now the shoe is on the other foot, so to speak, because it turns out that Bulkeley himself was an autograph collector—and he happened to focus his efforts on fellow presidents! U.S. presidents, that is, plus the inner circles of cabinet members who served them. This political theme was quite apt considering that Bulkeley went on to serve as Hartford mayor, Connecticut governor and U.S. Senator before his death in 1922 at age 84.


Thus we proudly present Morgan Bulkeley's presidential cabinet autograph collection spanning George Washington's coterie in the 1790s up through the Harding/Coolidge/Hoover era after World War I. There are 10 presidents and 17 vice presidents represented, plus Daniel Webster, William Jennings Bryan and the Great Compromiser, Henry Clay. Also no fewer than 9 members of Lincoln's famed "Team of Rivals" cabinet, including Salmon Chase and William Seward. Some cabinet members in the collection served multiple positions and/or administrations. The various cuts originate mainly from official documents, letters/envelopes and souvenir cards. They range in size, condition and mounting, yet are uniform in their elegance, scarcity and historical import. Each elite offering comes with an Auction LOA from JSA.



Harding, Coolidge and Hoover 1921-1933 Presidents, Vice-Presidents and Cabinet Members Signed Items (14)


1) Calvin Coolidge (President)


2) Herbert Hoover (President)


3) Charles Curtis (Vice President)


4) Charles Dawes (Vice President)


5) Charles Evans Hughes (Secretary of State; later Supreme Court)


6) Andrew Mellon (Secretary of Treasury)


7) Will Hayes (Postmaster General)


8) Harry New (Postmaster General)


9) Henry Wallace (Secretary of Agriculture)


10) James Davis (Secretary of Labor)


11) Frank Kellogg (Secretary of State)


12) Edwin Denby (Secretary of Navy)


13-14) Hubert Work (2, Postmaster General/Secretary of Interior)

Pictures  (Click on Photo to Enlarge)